The Incas forged an incredible civilization that learned how to tame the geography of Peru. This ancient society lived in harmony with the rivers, the sun, the rain, the ocean, the jungle, the Peruvian mountains and the cold dryness of the Andes, consequently adapting to the weather, their surroundings and surviving thanks to Mother Earth’s gifts.

Travel Requirements

Peru is basically a country of open doors. The entry into Peru for Citizens of most American and Western European countries does not require a tourist visa. The maximum period of stay granted by the authorities is 183 days (cannot be extended). For longer periods of time for other purposes (business, study, work, etc.) it is necessary to apply for the corresponding visa at a Peruvian consulate.

In order to enter Peru it is indispensible to carry a valid passport. Citizens of Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay, Ecuador, Colombia, Bolivia, Venezuela and Chile may enter with their valid national identification document.

Currency

The “Nuevo Sol” (S/.) is the official currency of Peru. There are notes of the following denominations: 10, 20, 50, 100 and 200 soles. Coins are 10, 20 and 50 cents, as well as 1, 2 and 5 Nuevos Soles.

Countless shops, restaurants, hotels and gas stations accept US Dollars. It is possible to exchange currency in banks and currency exchange agencies. There are also “cambistas” street currency exchangers, but the safety of the transaction is not guaranteed. Currency exchange agencies are regularly open from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm, from Monday to Friday, and half day on Saturdays.

Most cities in the country have ATMs connected in most cases to Plus (Visa), Cirrus (MasterCard/Maestro), American Express and other networks. You may withdraw Nuevos Soles or US Dollars, although the exchange rates tend to be less favorable.

Time zone

Peru has one time zone -5h, GMT

Lima 12:00 h London 17:00 h
New York 12:00 h Berlin 18:00 h
Buenos Aires 14:00 h Paris 18:00 h
Santiago 13:00 h Tokyo 02:00 h (*)
México D.F. 11:00 h Sydney 03:00 h (*)

*of the following day

Health

Hygienic conditions in Peru are good, particularly in the cities. Over the last year health services have been modernized and expanded to many hospitals and clinics in order provide adequate care; however it is always advisable to purchase your own travel health insurance.
Vaccination

There are no mandatory vaccines for entry into Peru. Should you wish to visit the Amazonian region of the country, the Ministry of Health recommends vaccinations against yellow fever.

Consulates and Embassies

Duty-free items

In line with Peruvian customs regulations, those used or new items that a traveler may reasonably require for use or consumption, and that due to their nature, quantity and variety are not assumed to be for commercial use, are considered as duty-free items.

Others

Peru’s electricity runs on 220 volts and 60 cycles (except for Arequipa where it is 50 cycles).

There is no preestablished amount for gratuities, it depends on the customer’s level of satisfaction with the service. 10% of the check is usually considered adequate.